Someone Makes These

I pulled this off the top of my bottle of orange juice.

Image

Someone’s life involves making these things. Someone’s life involves running a company that makes these things. Someone manages a factory that makes these things. Someone owns the company that makes these things; these things are their business. The funny thing is that there’s no one in the world who dreams of making these things as a kid. And yet, there they are on top of my orange juice.

About plasticbodies

Contemporary philosopher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Someone Makes These

  1. Dean says:

    Reblogged this on Re(-)petitions and commented:
    My wife and I have been having many conversations like this lately, that is, about the ubiquity of products made by anonymous hands in anonymous places for irrelevant consumption.
    Christ have mercy.

  2. plasticbodies says:

    I should have added that the thought of these things is incredibly depressing for me. Not because I pity those who make these things, although that’s something, but because we live in a world where these things can make someone wealthy. Have mercy, indeed!

  3. Dean says:

    “because we live in a world where these things can make someone wealthy”

    Yes, how insane! Can you imagine the guy on the cruise popping shrimp and wine whose empire is built on arbitrary plastic packaging?

  4. plasticbodies says:

    Don’t make me!

  5. Dean says:

    Alright, alright…I’ve put you through enough.

    But really, great post. It doesn’t seem like much, perhaps, but I think the banality of injustice is incredibly important.

Leave a Reply

