mishmash update

What have I been up to lately? Well, last night I returned to the Poconos after spending several days in Point Pleasant, NJ. My parents and I made the trip down to help my grandmother do some home improvement. The chores included the re-painting of a tool shed my grandfather built in 1984.  We also replaced a few pieces of wood just below the flower box. My grandparents’ home is covered in architectural and aesthetic details provided by the hand of my grandfather, who passed away last year.

My grandmother plans on selling their home, hence the improvements.

Our trip also afforded some opportunities to bike to the shore and enjoy the sights, sounds, and smells of the boardwalk where I spent a couple weeks every summer of my childhood. We also biked from Manasquan, NJ to the historic village at Allaire State Park. Of course we saw fireworks over the weekend and consumed fresh seafood too.

Lately I’ve been recovering from an uncharacteristic TV binge. Don’t get me wrong: I love television as much as the next person, I just don’t watch it much anymore, but rather keep up with a few shows on Hulu when I have the time. When I’m not watching TV (!), I’m prepping for fall classes, reviewing chapters for a book on habit I’m coediting, and helping coordinate this year’s Pittsburgh Area Philosophy Colloquium.

Apart from listening to the splendid, haunting new album from Bon Iver, my ears are living on WNTI, a public radio station broadcast from Centenary College in Hackettstown, New Jersey. Today I bought a new pair of day-hiking shoes, which will replace the old Montrail trailrunners I’ve been using. Perhaps I’ll break them in tomorrow. All things considered, life is good.

About plasticbodies

Contemporary philosopher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

