job market impression

Just browsing through the early job postings, there appears to be a demand this year for philosophers doing social/political philosophy and/or applied ethics, or some combination of the two. Last year it seemed like you needed to do race theory in addition to whatever your specialization is. Of course, this is anecdotal and the product of my particular perspective on the market, which is focused on a certain subset of advertisements. This year I’ve decided to avoid most job market advice, and to try to stay away from discussions of the market in general. Although, I was intrigued by this discussion at New APPS and a recent thread about uploading letters of recommendation at Leiter Reports.

3 thoughts on “job market impression

  1. I’m not sure I like the first cut criteria. Coming from a less-well-known school, I wonder if “less well known” always means “lose first cut” because answering the question “good resources for the field” implicates the reader’s prior knowledge.

    I note that the very first comment also asks this question as well as further ones.

  2. That’s a great point. I’m not sure about the first-cut thing, either. One wonders what the price of more efficient searches will be, assuming that the process is changing.

  3. Tom,
    Thanks for the link. Really, one way of finding your way into the mind of the committee’s decision is to research the person that they ended up hiring. However, and not that I would be comparing the hired candidate to myself, but really to as great a many fellow applicants and their credentials that I know of, I am often surprised but who ends up getting the job. This means that despite stellar qualifications, solid teaching experience, premium publications (book), and decent to very good graduate program, there are other whimsical factors involved. When the decisions *more often than not* come down to random or whimsical factors that is what scares me. I believe random and whimsical factors rule the day just because of the sheer number of applicants (as the APPS article mentions, and as the rejection letters often mention, we are talking 200-500 per position, or more realistically for specific AOS’s, I am thinking at least 150-250).

    Leon

Leave a Reply

