habit book

My colleague Adam Hutchinson and I are in the midst of editing a book of essays on the history of the concept of habit, tentatively bearing the title Automated Action: Essays on Habit from Aristotle to Bourdieu. At this point we have 14 contributors writing on various figures from the history of philosophy, and a few pieces that look at how habit has been mobilized in race and feminist theory. We’re¬†very¬†excited about the essays and plan to have the edited MS sent to the publisher in the coming weeks. I’ll have more to say about this, and the Plastic Bodies book project, soon enough.

9 thoughts on “habit book

  1. I’ll be very interested in this. I’m not sure what I’m going to be writing my dissertation on yet, but one idea I’m seriously toying with is the relationship between being and having. This would let me do all kinds of fun things like investigate the history of clothing, and engage all the great stuff being done with habits, and even look at dragons in various myths and legends (which I think might have something to do with habits if you can believe it).

  2. This sounds like a wonderful project. If all goes well, this book would appear next year (probably later in the year, given the tortoise-pace of publishing). Dragons? Yeah, I don’t disbelieve it.

  3. habits is one of my favorite topics, have you read The Social Theory of Practices: Tradition, Tacit Knowledge, and Presuppositions, by Stephen Turner?

  4. Rupert Sheldrake argues that the laws of physics are like habits. It’s not new to think with Meillassoux that they could change at any moment.

  5. Yeah, William James says the same thing in Principles of Psychology. I’m pretty sure Darwin says something similar, too.

  6. pb, have you looked into the developing research on cognitive biases?
    to my mind they are not only habits but also akin to, aspects of, sense perception and as pro/inter-active, not passive/receptive, as phenomenology has found the traditional five senses to be.
    does this make some sense to you?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cognitive_biases

  7. Pingback: a second book contracted | plastic bodies

Leave a Reply

