turkey refutes kant

I came across this article via Arts and Letters Daily (I say this to indicate that I don’t regularly read World Affairs Journal). It talks about how the Turks have basically made lying a fundamental element of their everyday lives, that they often lie to be polite (don’t we do that too?) and lie without knowing it. As far as I can tell, Turkey hasn’t imploded. You can read the rest for yourself, but I want to suggest that this seems to refute Kant’s famous remarks about the immorality of lying in the Groundwork.

Leave a Reply

